Two months ago Friday the sweetest little boy entered our life! I can't believe it has already been 8 weeks! It seems like just yesterday I was being sent to the hospital. It is probably the lack of sleep that is giving me a distorted sense of time! Well we took Charlie for his 8 week check up and this is what we got....
Height: 22 3/4 inches, 45%
Weight: 10 lbs, 11 oz 25%
Head Circ.: 37.2 cm 5%
He got a gagillion shots it felt like. Three really but I'm the only one counting. The silent scream is the worst. But that was just me....Charlie's silent cry was AWFUL! Sam also got a flu shot and was really good for it. He was VERY excited for his band-aid.
Charlie is not doing much but nursing and spewing said breast milk all over me but I LOVE it. I would have a million babies. Toddlers, not so much, but it is getting easier and funner :) Charlie does have reflux and the doctor finally put him on prilosec instead of zantac. It will be a week on Saturday so hopefully we will notice a difference soon. It is really embarrassing when you go to have an evening gown fitted and you take off your oh, so attractive nursing bra only to find soured spit up in your cleavage.
We are all still sleeping in different areas of the house, except for Sam. He is still in his crib and has yet to try and escape. Charlie and I are mostly propped up in some strange fashion on the VERY comfy couch. He has to be upright for at least 30 min after he eats so I get to catch up on Tivo and snuggle my man while he is small.
He is starting to smile. They are few and far between but I think it is because he is in so much pain with his reflux. I think he is actually worse than Sam. He has the cutest dimples though when he does smile! He often gives one of those, "I just shit my pants" smirks and it too is adorable. I feel kinda bad for him....by the time Sam was one we had over 6,000 pictures (no exaggeration) of him....Charlie barely had 20! I just never know where the camera is and if I think he is being cute, Greg is off with Sam somewhere and I can't take the picture because I'm holding him :( I guess that's the downfall of having two!
Charlie--I promise that I will try to get more pictures of you! Charlie LOVES his pacifier and so do mommy and daddy. We are struggling with what to call it. Sam has come up with calling it bobby so I have been trying to go with that so he understands what I am asking for when I don't want to get up and get it! But we also have called it paci and binky. Amy calls it a whooby, which only brings to mind the little boys blanket from Mr. Mom. So that one is out for me. I have read that the bobby is good for babies with reflux, that it helps create saliva that helps digestion. Suck away buddy. So anyways...that is why you see in 95% of pictures that Charlie has a bobby.
In the photos below we had just take the bobby out of his mouth...he apparently wants it back.
I have only been peed on a few times. Which is a nice relief considering Sam peed on me like 100 times. But what Charlie lacks in urine he more than makes up for in spit up. Speaking of bodily functions...back to my favorite subject...poop in the water. This time not at the pool but in the bath tub. Sam has NEVER, EVER, EVER poo'd in the bath. I have heard many a story about poo in the tub but have never experienced it, until now. Charlie has yet to take a bath without pooing in the tub. I guess it isn't so bad because it is still that runny, not really solid poo but still....gross. I hope he grows out of it.
I'm not even gonna get into the little sheet that they gave out with Charlie...it is just too much--in the sarcastic sense of too much. And to be honest, my patience with stupidity is out the window. Lord help the slow drivers and bitchy bank tellers.
PS-As you can see in an above picture Charlie is cross-eyed. He looks this way often and we are amused by it.

1 comment:
You are too funny! Lily called her pacifier "bobby", too! And since she regained it (Did you read that on my blog? She was wetting the bed during her naps because we took it away and I researched and figured out that it was because I took that away - so we gaev it back to her for sleeping and all is well ni the world!)..Charlie and Sam are so cute. Charlie looks just like your husband! I know you are so exhausted, but you are right...soon, he won't want you to be holding him! :)
Post a Comment