Friday, October 30, 2009

Misc and Fun


Here is Charlie...propped up as usual. Poor guy with his reflux....and poor mommy having to limit her diet :( No dairy, no tomato based anything, no veggies, no acidic fruit, no salad, no coffee, no soda, no nothin! I am surviving on peanut butter sandwiches, chicken and brown rice. Such is life. I love breastfeeding so I'm not giving it up. Plus Charlie is on liquid gold as they call it, prilosec, so the reflux is getting better.


Uzzie and Poppie came to visit on their way to Atl for Uncle Geordy and Aunt Lindy's wedding. They were kind enough to keep the kids overnight so Greg and I could join Amy and Bill in Charlotte for the American Retail Baker's Conference. We weren't even gone twenty four hours but it was nice. Amy got a kick out of the hotel so she was happy! Sam on the other hand loves his play-doh. He could play for hours. Suzzanne and George took turns rotating in. It was also a little chilly outside but he didn't care. I'm sure Suzzanne thinks I'm nuts to have play-doh ONLY outside but a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do when you have a white couch!


Sam has taken to trying to hide from us. He now hates to get pj's on, read books and/or go to bed. He probably hates the first two because he knows that it will lead to the third! But he is so cute. He hides behind pillows and thinks we can't see him! He's an ostrich minus the freakish long neck and large feathers.


The only time leg rolls are cute--as Krissy would say!!! Charlie is quite the chunk and his little cheeks are getting rounder and rounder by the day! His little dimples are quite cute and charming! He has been having a little issue with pooping lately....Yes, back to the poop talk. So I manned up and bought some baby suppositories. Now...I have NEVER had a problem pooping until I became pregnant with Charlie. Then I was stopped up like no one's business so I guess it is just him! He just stopped pooping so I thought I would get these little miracle capsules and all would be well with the world. So I inserted one....and it came shooting right back out?! So I tried again and it came shooting right back out!! So I quickly shoved it in and then squished his little bum together. I slowly let go after about 30 sec and all was well. I slapped on the diaper and went on to feed him. I shit you not, no pun intended, three sucks into the feeding and old faithful came shooting out of his ass. I thought for sure there would be a hole in his diaper and shit all over the couch. But alas, it only filled his diaper but he felt much better!

Then a few days later, still no more poop. I "induced" another big poo and went on with my day. So yesterday, we had Charlie all cutied up in a little jack-o-lantern onesie and he decided to let loose. I heard Greg yelling downstairs...."uh-oh, help, help" and I just turned and got in the shower...Is that wrong? So when I was all clean, I went into my room to find shit on my duvet cover, shit covered clothes strewn all over my room and a shit covered baby. WOW! He had actually blown poo all the way up his back and out his sleeves! Now that is talent! He definitely takes after his daddy!

So onto cutie onesie #2. This time a cute "Baby's 1st Halloween" onesie. This one lasted until this morning. Then we had another up-the-back poo. This time I didn't realize just how far up-the-back it went and stuck my hand in it as I was changing his outfit! Good Morning Mommy!


The cutest cross-eyed baby in the world.
He's not like this always...just occasionally.

Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Fatty, McFat

Charlie is 11 lbs 10 oz. He has a clogged tear duct. Thanks Kastendike's! Krissy has one and Sam also had one. I guess it's par for the course!

I think it took Sam many moons to reach 11 lbs. You should see the fat rolls on this kids legs, I mean it is unreal and adorable. If it weren't a little strange I would kiss them!

Monday, October 19, 2009

Things I Can Do....

The following are things that I have learned that I can do one handed--aka I have an 11 lb. 2 month old attached to me:

1. Go to the bathroom and wipe, then wash said hand.
2. Open a sippy cup, fill it with milk and then put the lid back on. Typically, this takes place with a two year old stuck to one leg too. So technically, this is one handed and one legged.
3. Snap together my bra.
4. Pick up, dial, answer and/or end phone calls.
5. Change over laundry.
6. Type emails.
7. Cook dinner. Including but not limited to slicing bread, setting the table, getting Samuel into his high chair, and eating.
8. Fold laundry and then watch as Sam destroys my perfect little piles.
9. Make beds.
10. Brush my teeth, which sometimes can be tricky with all the foam and spitting.

Things I can do while nursing--aka I have an 11 lb 2 month old ATTACHED to me and by attached I truly mean attached:

1. Type emails--personal and cupcake envy.
2. Update blog--SLOWLY.
3. Channel surf.
4. Sleep.
5. Read People Magazine.
6. Watch Cars for the 20,000th time (See next section).
7. Scan and fill out documents.

Things I cannot do while nursing--aka I have an 11 lb 2 month old attached to me:

1. Get up.
2. Reach for remotes (to accomplish #3 of previous section and/or to stop #6 of previous section).
3. Grab Samuel as he flies off the bed b/c he is practicing his Cirque du Soleil moves.
4. Cook dinner--somehow I just feel that this is unsanitary.
5. Grocery shop.
6. Clean bathrooms--again somehow I just feel like the fumes would be a bad thing and all the hard scrubbing and shaking would be VERY uncomfortable.
7. Drive--well I could but I would probably be arrested.

Things I can do on VERY little sleep:

1. Drive.
2. Shower.
3. Drink massive amounts of coffee.
4. Cry.
5. Push play on the dvd player (see #6 in section titled things I can do while nursing) and/or press the number 74 on our remote--Thank God for Noggin.
6. Pretend to function like a normal person.

Things I cannot do on VERY little sleep:

1. Deal with stupid people.
2. Deal with slow people.
3. Explain myself very well.
4. Speak--I lose words all the time--I think it is still pregnancy brain, I haven't lost it yet.
5. Stay awake.
6. Feel pretty or make an effort to actually look that way.

AHHH--the life of a mom!

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Heeeere's Charlie

Alrighty....Here's Charlie.....
Two months ago Friday the sweetest little boy entered our life! I can't believe it has already been 8 weeks! It seems like just yesterday I was being sent to the hospital. It is probably the lack of sleep that is giving me a distorted sense of time! Well we took Charlie for his 8 week check up and this is what we got....

Height: 22 3/4 inches, 45%
Weight: 10 lbs, 11 oz 25%
Head Circ.: 37.2 cm 5%

He got a gagillion shots it felt like. Three really but I'm the only one counting. The silent scream is the worst. But that was just me....Charlie's silent cry was AWFUL! Sam also got a flu shot and was really good for it. He was VERY excited for his band-aid.

Charlie is not doing much but nursing and spewing said breast milk all over me but I LOVE it. I would have a million babies. Toddlers, not so much, but it is getting easier and funner :) Charlie does have reflux and the doctor finally put him on prilosec instead of zantac. It will be a week on Saturday so hopefully we will notice a difference soon. It is really embarrassing when you go to have an evening gown fitted and you take off your oh, so attractive nursing bra only to find soured spit up in your cleavage.

We are all still sleeping in different areas of the house, except for Sam. He is still in his crib and has yet to try and escape. Charlie and I are mostly propped up in some strange fashion on the VERY comfy couch. He has to be upright for at least 30 min after he eats so I get to catch up on Tivo and snuggle my man while he is small.


He is starting to smile. They are few and far between but I think it is because he is in so much pain with his reflux. I think he is actually worse than Sam. He has the cutest dimples though when he does smile! He often gives one of those, "I just shit my pants" smirks and it too is adorable. I feel kinda bad for him....by the time Sam was one we had over 6,000 pictures (no exaggeration) of him....Charlie barely had 20! I just never know where the camera is and if I think he is being cute, Greg is off with Sam somewhere and I can't take the picture because I'm holding him :( I guess that's the downfall of having two!


Charlie--I promise that I will try to get more pictures of you! Charlie LOVES his pacifier and so do mommy and daddy. We are struggling with what to call it. Sam has come up with calling it bobby so I have been trying to go with that so he understands what I am asking for when I don't want to get up and get it! But we also have called it paci and binky. Amy calls it a whooby, which only brings to mind the little boys blanket from Mr. Mom. So that one is out for me. I have read that the bobby is good for babies with reflux, that it helps create saliva that helps digestion. Suck away buddy. So anyways...that is why you see in 95% of pictures that Charlie has a bobby.


In the photos below we had just take the bobby out of his mouth...he apparently wants it back.

He farts and belches like an old man and I wish that I could somehow know when he is going to do either of the previous things so that I can tape them and put them up here. Ya'll would just die! Some of his farts sounds like poo is gonna come shooting out of the sides of the diaper or just blow the whole thing off...think exploding balloon filled with shaving cream.

I have only been peed on a few times. Which is a nice relief considering Sam peed on me like 100 times. But what Charlie lacks in urine he more than makes up for in spit up. Speaking of bodily functions...back to my favorite subject...poop in the water. This time not at the pool but in the bath tub. Sam has NEVER, EVER, EVER poo'd in the bath. I have heard many a story about poo in the tub but have never experienced it, until now. Charlie has yet to take a bath without pooing in the tub. I guess it isn't so bad because it is still that runny, not really solid poo but still....gross. I hope he grows out of it.


I'm not even gonna get into the little sheet that they gave out with Charlie...it is just too much--in the sarcastic sense of too much. And to be honest, my patience with stupidity is out the window. Lord help the slow drivers and bitchy bank tellers.

PS-As you can see in an above picture Charlie is cross-eyed. He looks this way often and we are amused by it.

Tuesday, October 6, 2009

Chatty Sam



We have a VERY chatty samuel...what was I ever worried about?