Thursday, December 10, 2009

Charlie's Laugh


My little man is getting so big. I hate it. I want him to stay small forever. Is that so wrong? I think it may be a control issue that I have but who knows. I am sad that he is growing right before my eyes and it is going by so fast. He is already almost 4 months old. Can you believe it? We go on Monday for a check up so I will post all the updates!

Sam on the other hand has literally EXPLODED with language. I say language because we truly aren't sure what language it is, just that he is saying words. He really is a Vietnamese Nail Technician so I am taking him with me next time I get my toes done to translate.

Saturday, December 5, 2009

Wowza

You can almost hear the smart ass comment that would come out of his mouth next.

Christmas tree shopping with the boys.

My attempt to snatch Sam and take a pic. He has become VERY anti-paparazzi lately.


Ok--so I am going to post for postings sake. I was chatting with my mom's bff today and she said how much she liked the blog and I did feel a twinge of guilt for being so absent. I also said that for the most part all I wanted to write on here was the f word...over and over and over again but here is my best shot at a post.

I have neglected you...for that I am sorry. I miss my blog. I miss my time and I miss my DINK (dual income, no kids) lifestyle. But I was thinking the other day, as I was trying to gather myself, that I wouldn't trade my life for the world. I have two very attractive children and a pretty hunky husband. Even though I forget to close the door when I have to poo, I'm pretty sure he loves me anyway. He just doesn't understand that for the last 27 months (give or take the NICU), I have not gone to the bathroom by myself. I may have had a few moments of peace, but not many. It is amazing how much you lose of yourself or better yet, how much of yourself you are willing to give to your kids.

Greg keeps looking at me and saying that I look miserable and that he wishes that I wasn't in such a bad mood but the weird thing is...I'm not even pissy or upset. I am just so GD scatterbrained that it seems like I am miserable. Those who know me, know that I like to have a plan and that I am a pretty smart girl and I have most of the answers, most of the time but lately I have NOT been that go to girl. I am lost in my own thoughts of what has to be done and where did I have to be 10 min ago and why is the baby crying and what are we having for dinner and did I take my pill b/c God knows that's all I need right now!

Did I mention that my neighbor has forced me to read twilight and now I am hooked. So while trying to Christmas shop for a gazillion people, find good gifts for my husband, keep Cupcake Envy afloat and somewhat organized AND trying to raise two rambunctious boys....oh yeah, I am trying to read a SERIES of 700+ page books. I think I am headed for a breakdown....(Enter Tom Petty's song Breakdown).

Enter my attempt at a tutorial....

Sunday, November 22, 2009

Mommy's Haircutting Salon Now Open







I have officially become a mom. I gave Sam his first "Mommy" haircut today. He hates me. And so much for getting the boys pictures taken for Christmas...insert sad sound effect here. He was actually pretty good. I tried to move fast and that made for a crazy lookin' cut. He was ok with the clippers at the hair place so I thought it would be the same here. Well, not so much. He was ok a the beginning but as I started moving around his head he got less and less patient and his lollipop was gone. So the screaming began. I only cursed a little and I did put him in the house to cry (I tried this experiment outside). Then Greg had him on his lap back in the barber's chair to finish up. I don't think it looks too bad. A number 2 clip is too short. Well, you live and you learn!

This is Charlie's reaction!

Tuesday, November 17, 2009

How Clean is Your Toilet Water?

Catchy title you say...I think my toilet water is pretty clean you say...I would never touch my toilet water with bare hands you say....

Well, let me tell you a little story. It all started when Charlie went down for his morning nap. I had moved my toothbrush and toothpaste into the guest bathroom so I would not disturb him as I was brushing my teeth. Sam has a fascination with watching us brush our teeth and then wanting to do the same. I think he just likes the taste of the kids toothpaste, he just sucks it off along with any water, repeatedly. Any way...I take this precious opportunity to jump in the shower (I shower in the guest bathroom...just because the master shower is like tomb size). Sam is occupied with Bob the Builder and Charlie is asleep. What more could a girl ask for?! I jump in and start hearing the pitter-patter of little footsteps in the bathroom. So I peek out. Sam is using his potty as a stepping stool to reach my mom's toothbrush. I think this is cute so I continue showering. I know he can't reach the toothpaste and what else could he do with a toothbrush? Oh, how naive I am!

I hear him banging on the sink with the toothbrush and then I hear him saying help. I peek out and he is trying to turn on the water, I know he can't reach it so I just ignore it and finish enjoying my warm cocoon of a shower. I turn the shower off, open the curtain and see Samuel flinging a wet toothbrush around. Now, how could he have done this you ask? Well, I am deducing that he dipped the toothbrush in the open toilet and then brushed his teeth with it?! The toilet seat was wet and so was his hand :) He brushes his teeth by sucking the water and toothpaste off of the bristles!

Wow--so what to do now? Wash his mouth out? Rinse it out? Re-brush with toothpaste? Give him milk and tell him to drink up? What is a mom to do? SO now I think, how clean is that toilet water?

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Band-Aid's


The time of Band-Aid decoration has begun. Is this something every child goes through? I hope so. Sam has found every little scrape and scratch to put a band-aid on. He also needs a Dora AND a Go, Go (Diego) band-aid, one doesn't go on without the other?! In the picture above he actually moved his band-aid all over his forehead!

He is so cute when he says, "Boo, Boo". He is having good and bad days as far as being two. I can understand how some animals eat their young!

Monday, November 2, 2009

Halloween 2009

So here we are Halloween 2009. I swear my house is actually cool, as in temperature, but not cold. The reason I am wearing a tank top and shorts is because it was over 80 degrees today in Raleigh. Charlie didn't even have on pants! But Mama, you will be proud, he had on socks!


So my sister Anna bought all of these adorable onesies and a Halloween costume for Charlie. We went through all of them that day! In the above picture I had just finished feeding Charlie and he has to be upright for at least 30 min after he eats b/c of his reflux. In the next pic you will see why he has to be upright...if you look close his jack-o-lantern is multi-colored. And the reason is.....SPIT-UP, Up Chuck, Vomit or as some kids like to call it, YUCK! Poor Charlie. I don't think there is a day that goes by that he doesn't cover himself in spit-up. And poor me, (do you hear the violins playing?), I stink of sour milk all the time. I can't help it. Even if I have a burp cloth I still get it in my cleavage. wah, wah :(


We picked Sam's costume this year. He really didn't have a preference...at least I don't think he did. So he was a construction worker or as Greg likes to say, a GC. How official! He certainly has the attitude of a GC, my way or the highway.


Sam wouldn't stand with the other children to have a picture taken. He had to stand in front of them. Can you say Kastendike? Anywho, Ben was a knight of darkness, Sam was Michael Jackson complete with white socks, penny loafers, glasses and a glove, and Justin was some sort of ninja.


Poor Bill. He entertains his wife, Amy. She actually bought this for herself at Goodwill and then said she would be too hot so Bill obliged and put it on. Ho, Ho, Ho


And last but not least my little giraffe. He was NOT a brown cow...(brown chicken, brown cow) I couldn't help myself. He was actually supposed to be a lobster but because it was more like Florida around here at 80 degrees we had to opt for the less bulky giraffe costume. It actually had a detachable tail! He slept most of the way and we watched Sammy run up to house after house to get his candy. Sam LOVED it this year and it was so much fun to watch him try to keep up.


This was the only picture we could get of the boys together. Neither one was cooperative! Sam just wanted candy and Charlie just wanted a boob. So this is what you get :) Happy Halloween 2009 ya'll!

Not MY Child



Here is every teachers worst nightmare of a parent....not MY child....

My child did NOT eat cheetos for lunch today with a side of all bran crackers.

My child does NOT demand "pops" for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

My child did NOT have a movie marathon yesterday that consisted of Lady and the Tramp (twice), Lion King, and Toy Story 1 AND 2.
My child does NOT know how to work the (re)"motes" to the TV and DVD player.

And last but not least my youngest child did NOT sleep with me on the couch the last 4 nights! I can't help it! Blame the reflux and his being so damn snuggly!



Not Me Monday



I am certainly NOT sitting here typing this blog while my oldest child watches Toy Story for the third time today and while my youngest is fussing under his activity gym.

I certainly did NOT give my child a Klondike bar after he refused to eat his delicious turkey dinner that Amy made.

I certainly did NOT secretly enjoy eating Reece's Pieces for breakfast the other day and I certainly did NOT reprimand my child for climbing over Amy's couch to get M&M's that were in a dish while I was NOT eating a Kit-Kat bar from one of her kids halloween bags.

I also did NOT allow my child to run around in a diaper this morning b/c mommy forgot to clean the inside of the high chair and got strawberry on his cute cords and refused to dress him in another cute outfit...so I did NOT just throw them in the wash and pray that we didn't have to leave the house!

Contrary to all ya'lls beliefs I am a good mommy...Just wait and see! Check out Welcome to Not Me! Monday! This blog carnival was created by MckMama. You can head over to her blog to read what she and everyone else have not been doing this week.

Sunday, November 1, 2009

The Wedding

Meet the newest Kastendike. No not Charlie. Lindy Gale Kastendike! She took the brave step and married George on October 24, 2009. It was a great weekend. Weather-wise not so much but it did clear up for the wedding. It was so much fun seeing family and friends and catching up.

Lindy was ABSOLUTELY gorgeous and glowing! She was so cool calm and collected. I think her bridesmaids and friends were more nervous then she was!



Greg looked VERY handsome in his tux and he gave a good speech/roasting. I tried to curtail all the "I'm the best, George is the best" talk but a wife can only do so much! I am getting lots of compliments on my hair and I absolutely loved it. So thank you everyone! Wish I could put some effort into it everyday!

George and Lindy are on their way to London as we speak. They spent a few days in Key Largo and a week in Paris! So happy for them and we can't wait to see pics from the honeymoon!

Friday, October 30, 2009

Misc and Fun


Here is Charlie...propped up as usual. Poor guy with his reflux....and poor mommy having to limit her diet :( No dairy, no tomato based anything, no veggies, no acidic fruit, no salad, no coffee, no soda, no nothin! I am surviving on peanut butter sandwiches, chicken and brown rice. Such is life. I love breastfeeding so I'm not giving it up. Plus Charlie is on liquid gold as they call it, prilosec, so the reflux is getting better.


Uzzie and Poppie came to visit on their way to Atl for Uncle Geordy and Aunt Lindy's wedding. They were kind enough to keep the kids overnight so Greg and I could join Amy and Bill in Charlotte for the American Retail Baker's Conference. We weren't even gone twenty four hours but it was nice. Amy got a kick out of the hotel so she was happy! Sam on the other hand loves his play-doh. He could play for hours. Suzzanne and George took turns rotating in. It was also a little chilly outside but he didn't care. I'm sure Suzzanne thinks I'm nuts to have play-doh ONLY outside but a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do when you have a white couch!


Sam has taken to trying to hide from us. He now hates to get pj's on, read books and/or go to bed. He probably hates the first two because he knows that it will lead to the third! But he is so cute. He hides behind pillows and thinks we can't see him! He's an ostrich minus the freakish long neck and large feathers.


The only time leg rolls are cute--as Krissy would say!!! Charlie is quite the chunk and his little cheeks are getting rounder and rounder by the day! His little dimples are quite cute and charming! He has been having a little issue with pooping lately....Yes, back to the poop talk. So I manned up and bought some baby suppositories. Now...I have NEVER had a problem pooping until I became pregnant with Charlie. Then I was stopped up like no one's business so I guess it is just him! He just stopped pooping so I thought I would get these little miracle capsules and all would be well with the world. So I inserted one....and it came shooting right back out?! So I tried again and it came shooting right back out!! So I quickly shoved it in and then squished his little bum together. I slowly let go after about 30 sec and all was well. I slapped on the diaper and went on to feed him. I shit you not, no pun intended, three sucks into the feeding and old faithful came shooting out of his ass. I thought for sure there would be a hole in his diaper and shit all over the couch. But alas, it only filled his diaper but he felt much better!

Then a few days later, still no more poop. I "induced" another big poo and went on with my day. So yesterday, we had Charlie all cutied up in a little jack-o-lantern onesie and he decided to let loose. I heard Greg yelling downstairs...."uh-oh, help, help" and I just turned and got in the shower...Is that wrong? So when I was all clean, I went into my room to find shit on my duvet cover, shit covered clothes strewn all over my room and a shit covered baby. WOW! He had actually blown poo all the way up his back and out his sleeves! Now that is talent! He definitely takes after his daddy!

So onto cutie onesie #2. This time a cute "Baby's 1st Halloween" onesie. This one lasted until this morning. Then we had another up-the-back poo. This time I didn't realize just how far up-the-back it went and stuck my hand in it as I was changing his outfit! Good Morning Mommy!


The cutest cross-eyed baby in the world.
He's not like this always...just occasionally.

Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Fatty, McFat

Charlie is 11 lbs 10 oz. He has a clogged tear duct. Thanks Kastendike's! Krissy has one and Sam also had one. I guess it's par for the course!

I think it took Sam many moons to reach 11 lbs. You should see the fat rolls on this kids legs, I mean it is unreal and adorable. If it weren't a little strange I would kiss them!

Monday, October 19, 2009

Things I Can Do....

The following are things that I have learned that I can do one handed--aka I have an 11 lb. 2 month old attached to me:

1. Go to the bathroom and wipe, then wash said hand.
2. Open a sippy cup, fill it with milk and then put the lid back on. Typically, this takes place with a two year old stuck to one leg too. So technically, this is one handed and one legged.
3. Snap together my bra.
4. Pick up, dial, answer and/or end phone calls.
5. Change over laundry.
6. Type emails.
7. Cook dinner. Including but not limited to slicing bread, setting the table, getting Samuel into his high chair, and eating.
8. Fold laundry and then watch as Sam destroys my perfect little piles.
9. Make beds.
10. Brush my teeth, which sometimes can be tricky with all the foam and spitting.

Things I can do while nursing--aka I have an 11 lb 2 month old ATTACHED to me and by attached I truly mean attached:

1. Type emails--personal and cupcake envy.
2. Update blog--SLOWLY.
3. Channel surf.
4. Sleep.
5. Read People Magazine.
6. Watch Cars for the 20,000th time (See next section).
7. Scan and fill out documents.

Things I cannot do while nursing--aka I have an 11 lb 2 month old attached to me:

1. Get up.
2. Reach for remotes (to accomplish #3 of previous section and/or to stop #6 of previous section).
3. Grab Samuel as he flies off the bed b/c he is practicing his Cirque du Soleil moves.
4. Cook dinner--somehow I just feel that this is unsanitary.
5. Grocery shop.
6. Clean bathrooms--again somehow I just feel like the fumes would be a bad thing and all the hard scrubbing and shaking would be VERY uncomfortable.
7. Drive--well I could but I would probably be arrested.

Things I can do on VERY little sleep:

1. Drive.
2. Shower.
3. Drink massive amounts of coffee.
4. Cry.
5. Push play on the dvd player (see #6 in section titled things I can do while nursing) and/or press the number 74 on our remote--Thank God for Noggin.
6. Pretend to function like a normal person.

Things I cannot do on VERY little sleep:

1. Deal with stupid people.
2. Deal with slow people.
3. Explain myself very well.
4. Speak--I lose words all the time--I think it is still pregnancy brain, I haven't lost it yet.
5. Stay awake.
6. Feel pretty or make an effort to actually look that way.

AHHH--the life of a mom!

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Heeeere's Charlie

Alrighty....Here's Charlie.....
Two months ago Friday the sweetest little boy entered our life! I can't believe it has already been 8 weeks! It seems like just yesterday I was being sent to the hospital. It is probably the lack of sleep that is giving me a distorted sense of time! Well we took Charlie for his 8 week check up and this is what we got....

Height: 22 3/4 inches, 45%
Weight: 10 lbs, 11 oz 25%
Head Circ.: 37.2 cm 5%

He got a gagillion shots it felt like. Three really but I'm the only one counting. The silent scream is the worst. But that was just me....Charlie's silent cry was AWFUL! Sam also got a flu shot and was really good for it. He was VERY excited for his band-aid.

Charlie is not doing much but nursing and spewing said breast milk all over me but I LOVE it. I would have a million babies. Toddlers, not so much, but it is getting easier and funner :) Charlie does have reflux and the doctor finally put him on prilosec instead of zantac. It will be a week on Saturday so hopefully we will notice a difference soon. It is really embarrassing when you go to have an evening gown fitted and you take off your oh, so attractive nursing bra only to find soured spit up in your cleavage.

We are all still sleeping in different areas of the house, except for Sam. He is still in his crib and has yet to try and escape. Charlie and I are mostly propped up in some strange fashion on the VERY comfy couch. He has to be upright for at least 30 min after he eats so I get to catch up on Tivo and snuggle my man while he is small.


He is starting to smile. They are few and far between but I think it is because he is in so much pain with his reflux. I think he is actually worse than Sam. He has the cutest dimples though when he does smile! He often gives one of those, "I just shit my pants" smirks and it too is adorable. I feel kinda bad for him....by the time Sam was one we had over 6,000 pictures (no exaggeration) of him....Charlie barely had 20! I just never know where the camera is and if I think he is being cute, Greg is off with Sam somewhere and I can't take the picture because I'm holding him :( I guess that's the downfall of having two!


Charlie--I promise that I will try to get more pictures of you! Charlie LOVES his pacifier and so do mommy and daddy. We are struggling with what to call it. Sam has come up with calling it bobby so I have been trying to go with that so he understands what I am asking for when I don't want to get up and get it! But we also have called it paci and binky. Amy calls it a whooby, which only brings to mind the little boys blanket from Mr. Mom. So that one is out for me. I have read that the bobby is good for babies with reflux, that it helps create saliva that helps digestion. Suck away buddy. So anyways...that is why you see in 95% of pictures that Charlie has a bobby.


In the photos below we had just take the bobby out of his mouth...he apparently wants it back.

He farts and belches like an old man and I wish that I could somehow know when he is going to do either of the previous things so that I can tape them and put them up here. Ya'll would just die! Some of his farts sounds like poo is gonna come shooting out of the sides of the diaper or just blow the whole thing off...think exploding balloon filled with shaving cream.

I have only been peed on a few times. Which is a nice relief considering Sam peed on me like 100 times. But what Charlie lacks in urine he more than makes up for in spit up. Speaking of bodily functions...back to my favorite subject...poop in the water. This time not at the pool but in the bath tub. Sam has NEVER, EVER, EVER poo'd in the bath. I have heard many a story about poo in the tub but have never experienced it, until now. Charlie has yet to take a bath without pooing in the tub. I guess it isn't so bad because it is still that runny, not really solid poo but still....gross. I hope he grows out of it.


I'm not even gonna get into the little sheet that they gave out with Charlie...it is just too much--in the sarcastic sense of too much. And to be honest, my patience with stupidity is out the window. Lord help the slow drivers and bitchy bank tellers.

PS-As you can see in an above picture Charlie is cross-eyed. He looks this way often and we are amused by it.

Tuesday, October 6, 2009

Chatty Sam



We have a VERY chatty samuel...what was I ever worried about?

Wednesday, September 30, 2009

24 Month Update






All About Sam


Sam: 2 year appointment

9/10/09

Height 35 inches (65%)
Weight 24 lbs (7%)

He uses lots of words…Here are some of his faves:
Truck, Play, Mama/Dada, Charlie, Poppi, Jeannie, Baby
Red, Blue, Yellow, Green, Purple
One, Two, Three, Four, Five
Oh, Man
Dora, Go Go, Jack
Amy, Ben, Bill
Dog, All the animal noises
No, No, No, Yes Ma'am, No Ma'am
Eat

Loves trains and trucks
Swings golf clubs and baseball bats
Can kick and throw a ball
Jumps—so cute
Knows his ears, eyes, hair, nose, tongue, teeth, head, shoulders, arms, fingers, hands, feet, toes, knees, butt and pee-pee, belly and bebo (belly button)

Hates brushing his teeth and getting his diaper changed.
Loves his nigh-nigh
Hates sitting in his high chair to eat—he is too busy.
He can use a fork and doesn’t like to eat with his hands.
He uses a napkin well—thanks Greg.
Loves his milkies in the morning along with his “stories” including but not limited to Dora the Explorer, Jack’s Big Music Show, Red (the movie Cars) and Go, Go (Go, Diego, Go).


OK—I am getting a little guidance in writing this from a list that my doctor game me that states things that a 24-36 month old child should/could be doing and I shit you not this is what is says for injury prevention:

Check for hazards at baby’s level---like what? Everything is a hazard, even the baby!

Keep matches, plastic bags, hot liquids and cigarettes away from baby. Wow—they forgot alcohol and all my crystal meth making materials.

Keep child out of direct sunlight—what is he a Mogwai (see Gremlins)

Keep medications (ok, reasonable), cleaning supplies (why, do you think he will spontaneously clean—ok poison, I get it), soap, cosmetics (are we going to have a tranny on our hands?) and here is the kicker….poisonous plants. WHO has poisonous plants? I don’t live in a nursery. OK—Poinsettias but it isn’t Christmas 24-7 around here contrary to Sam's belief.

So the next category is Discipline and Parent Interaction. This is the kicker….
You should expect some curiosity about genitalia. Good luck with that! It doesn’t say that but it should.