Monday, October 4, 2010

Beach Round 2













Ahh, the beach. Now that it is rounding November, I guess I'll take ya'll back to July. We were very fortunate to have been offered a great beach place for a few days by Eli's daddio. So on a Sunday night after the offer was made we so graciously (and furiously) packed two children, ourselves, all of Greg's work stuff and all of our beach crap into the car to head out the next day.

Greg had a few claims that needed to be handled kind of on the way....So, off we go. The first claim went fine. It took a little longer then expected by nothing crazy. Then the second claim was kind of disasterous. We got off on the wrong exit, which then we had to drive 16 miles in the wrong direction b/c there were no other exits! HA! Then Sam needed to get out of the car. Thank God the woman whose house it was actually babysat kids and had a small gathering of children Sam's age penned up in her backyard! So off he went!

So our beach trip that should take just around 3 hours ended up taking 7+ hours. Good thing we had a book on tape! The house was PERFECT. It was certainly kid friendly and not so new you felt like you couldn't touch anything, but not so old that you felt gross by touching anything! Again, it was perfect. It felt like home! The kids acclimated well and had a blast. Greg worked in the early mornings so he could enjoy the day with the fam. By the time we were fed, dressed and packed he was ready to go.

So off to the beach we went...

Saturday, October 2, 2010

Effortless Parenting

SFD. Why does being a parent have to be so damn hard? I love my children and anyone who knows me knows that they are the light of my life, so in an effort to stop complaining about them and start truly enjoying them, I'll let someone else do the talking.

Here is a friends blog about effortless parenting....

Friday, September 24, 2010

after 7.5 years of wandering through the wondrous maze of parenting and reading the first chapter or so of half a dozen parenting books, i feel i've finally arrived at becoming the guardian, disciplinarian, and loving, encouraging, wise parent wanna-be that i am. yep, you heard that right. still stink at this.

sometimes i have parenting epiphanies while i'm leaning over my dirty bathroom sink applying my wrinkle cream and under-eye-circle makeup in the morning, getting ready for another busy day, and i can hear daddy through the wall negotiating with paige. she'll inevitably walk into the bathroom a few minutes later holding a hot pink ribbed tank top with "sweetness" stitched on the front and a bright red frilly skirt and ask me if it matches. i tell her no it doesn't match and she moans and complains all the way back to her room and then joe comes into the bathroom a minute later and says in a frustrated daddy voice: "why won't she do what she's told?" and i say, in my wise mom-voice: "because she doesn't get any consequences. why would she?" joe's response led to this morning's epiphany: because she's supposed to. (if i had a dime for every time he said that to me...)

i've gotta hand it to that ever-loved generation that came before us, who made parenting seem a normal part of life (oh, but it is not), begged us for grandchildren, and never bothered to tell us the one BIG SECRET. they made the "supposed to" happen when we were children with their consistent authority on the back end, and we learned early that we better do what we were "supposed to", or else. period.

problem is, in raising us, you parents made our lives so wonderful and easy (possibly because yours was so hard, and you love us so much) that we never thought parenting would require SUCH effort--and we're kinda lazy. we don't want to do that back-end authority work, because it's HARD. and since WE were good kids, we thought that's just the way we were. what we didn't realize was that you parents worked VERY HARD to make us good. and you made it seem effortless--whether consciously or not, we didn't know the inner workings of your parenting efforts. you disciplined us--and not listening was not an option. what to eat or wear was not really negotiable. and, most importantly--as dad, who parents cliff huxtable-style, once said to me, "you gotta make them think you could hurt them, even though you never would"--instill the terror. so along comes me and joe with the baby carriage, all innocently minding our own business, thinking we can provide these cute creatures with what is essential to life: food, shelter, clothing… then sit back and relax while they turn into respectful, contributing members of society without raising our blood pressure one point. but, as you all know, this doesn't work, because children are WILD ANIMALS who, by nature, are disobedient and naughty, 100% of the time.

so... a few minutes ago, that naughty girl went to school with a hot pink shirt with a lie stitched on it, a red skirt, and beat up white sneakers, and i told her she looked beautiful. but i'm preparing for the important battles, and she's not gonna win :)

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Post Its

That One Mom

Today is not Tuesday. I know this but here is my post it note that should have gone up yesterday....

Too busy to update is no excuse.


Saturday, August 28, 2010

Happy Birthday Charlie

Oh My God. Charlie is one. Time for baby #3. JK--well kinda.


Charles Alan how much you have grown. I can hardly believe that a whole year has passed since we brought you home from the hospital. I feel like you were just born. Seriously. I had to look back through my iphoto and make sure that I didn't just blink and you went from newborn to one. AHH!
Charlie is such an awesome baby. So different from Samuel...not that he isn't awesome, just different. He was such an easy baby, aside from the reflux and the sleeping upright until he was 4 months old. But he is so laid back. He is so content (or was until very recently) to just sit back and watch all the happenings around him. He has taught us so many things about being parents. Sam taught us how to be parents, Charlie has just sharpened our skills. I saw a book the other
called, "How to Have Your Second Child First." Ahh, how much easier it would have been. I think we would have had a few more....maybe we will. I digress.


You are an amazing little man Charles. Your dimples are so magnetic. You cannot help but be awed by that amazing smile. Your firsts seem like such a blur. Your first smile, your first laugh and when you first crawled are not fresh in my mind but I know they were spectacular. You went on a road trip when you were four weeks old to MD for Meghan Livie's wedding and Sam's birthday. Then you flew for the first time at nine weeks old to Atlanta to Uncle Geordy and Aunt Lindy's wedding. You met lots of people and everyone ooohhh and aaaahhhed over you.

We had an after baby shower because you decided that you needed to come a little early. We also bought a white couch right after you were born--dumb. You projectile vomited on the couch no less than 1,000 times. Thank God we bought the protection plan. You were pretty much crosseyed in every picture for the first few months of your life. It was adorable.

We started feeding you cereal at 4 months in hopes that you would start sleeping through the night. No such luck. Still to this very day you eat like a champ. And now you are sleeping through the night!

You still aren't walking and I still snuggle you whenever I get a chance. I had you while you slept today as a matter of fact. You are so grumpy from teething but that's ok. I know you will only be small once and I will only get to kiss and snuggle you for so long before you start pushing me away! I love you and can't wait to see the little boy that you will grow into!

I love you!

Mommy

check below....

I have previously started lots of posts and then had to save them...well it then publishes under the DATE that I started them. So needless to say you will have to scroll down :) I will try to copy and paste into new posts so this doesn't happen and/or just finish a damn post!

Monday, August 23, 2010

Another Recipe

I know, I know. I neglect you. But please don't be angry. Here is the best grilled corn salad you will EVER have.

I got it from RecipeGirl.com ummm she is the bomb. Also tried the heath bar ice cream sandwich cake. Delish!

Anywho here is the recipe.

Grilled Corn Salad

Grilled Corn Salad2

GRILLED CORN SALAD
www.RecipeGirl.com

5 ears corn on the cob, shucked
1 medium red bell pepper, seeded & diced
1/2 cup red onion, minced
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1 medium jalapeƱo pepper, seeded and finely chopped
1/2 cup light mayonnaise
1/2 cup seasoned rice vinegar
3 Tbs granulated white sugar
3 medium limes, zest and juice
salt and freshly ground black pepper

1. Grill the corn, dry, no oil. Cut the kernels off of the corn after grilling and place them in a large bowl. Add the bell pepper, onion, cilantro and jalapeno.

2. In a separate bowl, combine mayonaise, vinegar, sugar, lime zest and juice. Whisk to combine the dressing indredients and season to taste with salt and pepper.

3. Pour the dressing over the vegetables (you may wish to dress the salad lightly and not use all of the dressing, so add a little and then assess if it needs more) and toss gently.

Servings: 8

Cooking Tips
* Flavors are better if make it 12 to 24 hours ahead of time.


Read more: http://www.recipegirl.com/2007/09/02/grilled-corn-salad/#ixzz0xS8ZYsvM

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Happy 5th Anniversary Gregory

Ok--so it is October and we celebrated our anniversary in July. Greg loves me and thank God he does! So it has been a long five years that we have been married. We have done an amazing amount of stuff since we have been married. Our first year of marriage was bliss. We did a lot of eating, drinking and loving. We were blessed with having great friends and family close by. Madelyn was born and we were lucky enough to enjoy having a babe that was adorable and started preparing us for what was to come!

We visited a great little town, St. Michael's and Tilghman Island, for our 1st anniversary. We stayed in a bed and breakfast, played golf and went for an amazing sail. Ahh, the life of leisure that we were so anxious to throw to the wind. It was a blast while it lasted. Not that we didn't have almost five years of DINK (dual income, no kids) life that we took FULL advantage of.

Year two was full of ups and downs. We found out we were pregnant in February and also found out that we would be moving to NC! WOW! The day we found out we were having a little boy was incredible. Greg was so overjoyed and I cried, a little, b/c I wanted a little girl. God knows what he is doing! Chipotle was the celebration of choice! Then we had a couple of trips to NC to house hunt and we had a rocky road but found an unbelievable house. It was a give and take. We lost a great house with a terrible backyard but gained a pretty incredible house with a pretty incredible backyard, not to mention neighbors! The day we settled on our humble abode we received some pretty bad news--that our baby might possibly have Down's Syndrome. Talk about being on such a high and then being brought to your knees in an instant. After a couple of doctors appointments and an amnio we discovered that the baby would not have Down's.

I moved to NC the last week of June and we celebrated our 2nd anniversary at the Melting Pot. We came home to our new neighbors setting off fireworks in our driveway! Welcome home. After the move and what felt like 100 business trips, our baby decided to join us early....seven weeks early! Sam was in the NICU for five weeks and boy did we not have any idea what we were doing and/or in for! We made it to year three with a few falls and lots of pick me ups! Talk about your major stressors!

We loved our first year with Samuel. We were so overwhelmed and out of our minds but we loved it. He was a challenging baby but we loved him to pieces. So comes July 2, 2008. I can't even remember what we did. Must have been memorable...I think we watched a movie, on demand.

July 2, 2009. I was pregnant with babe #2. I was HUGE. I put on a fancy dress and we went to Cheesecake Factory. I looked like a giant blueberry but that was ok! We were in baby bliss. We were about to welcome another little boy into our lives and we were thrilled. Ahh, little did we know, that chaos was about to ensue. It has been so fun though!

July 2, 2010. We actually got to get out of the house. Suzz and George were here so both boys were well taken care of and we went to Flemmings Steakhouse. It was a rough time for us. We were both very stressed about several things going on, jobs, cupcake envy, family, both extended and OUR family. But I think through devotion to each other and to that family, we pulled through and once again there was light at the end of our tunnel. Our struggles are not new and I think that all families at one point or another have to face difficult decisions and tasks but I that we accomplished these with teamwork, it sounds queer I know, and love.

I can't wait to see what this next year holds for us and can't believe how lucky I am that you harassed me into dating and then I harassed you enough into marrying me! I love you, Greg! Happy Belated Five Years!

Beach Time Round 1



We went to the beach a few times this year. We went to visit Anna in Myrtle after she moved there and we were really lucky to be able to stay at Eli's Dad's place. The beach was WAYYYYY funner this time around. The first time we took Sam, when he was about nine months old, it was miserable and I was certain that it was going to be the same with Charlie considering they were about the same age. I'm such an optimist! But it was truly fun!

Charlie actually LOVED playing in the sand. We had to stop him from eating it quite a few times but otherwise he had a blast. We also brought a blow up pool so it kinda corralled him so he couldn't go very far. The surf was mild enough that we could sit on the sand and the kids could play right there in front of us. Sam had a blast with Greg jumping the waves. He even did it on his own, right where the surf broke closer to shore. It was adorable.

Mom was there too and was a HUGE help. She is so much more of a beach girl now then I think she was when we were little but I could be totally wrong. She took both boys in the water and had a great time helping Sam build castles and bulldoze just about everything! She bought him a sand toy that was a dump truck or some sort of episkater (excavator) and Sam just about had a heart attack.

Charlie actually napped on the blanket. It was hotter than Hades but we striped him of his wet suit and he zonked right out. He woke up quite a happy little beach goer. We actually had to drag Samuel off the beach.


Jeannie's Wedding

We had a beautiful day for Jeannie and Bob's wedding on August 15th. She was a very nervous bride but a beautiful one! They were married at Jefferson Patterson Park at 11 am (ish). The weather was cloudy but nice on the water.

Jeannie and Bob had a unity sand ceremony to fully commit to each other :) It was so nice that all the girls had a part in that!

Here is my one shot at an artsy photo.


And here is the fam! Nothing like being twice the size of any of your family put together :( SFD.


Jeannie's reception was held in the barn pavilion that they have on site. It was GORGEOUS! I loved it. The pavilion is very rustic and was set up beautifully. Jeannie hand wrote quotes onto each of the table cloths and handmade the favors that were called, Suminigashi. It is a ancient Japanese paper marbling. BEAUTIFUL!


Their first dance was cute--quite a variety of dance styles but so romantic. You can totally tell these guys are in love! YEAH!

Design

God knows what I have done to this blog--I hate the color change with font but I love the background so bear with me while I experiment!

Thanks!

Friday, July 30, 2010

Recipes



Hey ya'll. I am a bad blogger. I am tired and hate that I don't get on here more. Here are the recipes that I promised everyone at the beginning of July...Well, at least is isn't August yet!

Lemon Lime Cake

1 box lemon flavor cake mix
1 sm. box lime gelatin
3/4 c. water
1/3 c. key lime juice
1/3 c. vegetable oil
3 eggs

Combine ingredients and beat on medium speed for 2 minutes. Pour batter into prepared pans and bake 20-25 min at 350 degrees. Set aside to cool.

Lime Whipped Cream

1 cup heavy whipping cream
2-4 Tbsp. instant lime gelatin

Combine whipping cream and jello, beat as usual (until you get whipped cream). Serve immediately or store in fridge up to a day.

Tequila Syrup

1 c. sugar
1 c. water
1/2 c. tequila

Combine sugar and water in saucepan. Stir to dissolve sugar. Bring to a boil and cool. When the syrup has reached room temp, add tequila. Store in the fridge for up to two weeks.
********This makes SOOO much. You do not need this much...so I would half the recipe!******

Margarita Trifle

In any type of glass, compote or margarita glass, place a layer of cake cubes then drizzle they cubes with the simple syrup. You DO NOT have to use the simple syrup. The cake is delish with just the whipped cream! But if you want a kick use the syrup...it isn't too heavy so don't think you are gonna get lit with it! I rimmed the glasses with a lime and then dipped them in green course sugar for the full effect!

For easy application of simple syrup, put it into a squeeze bottle.

Tex Mex Salad

Ingredients

  • Butter, for preparing 8 by 8-inch glass pan
  • 1 (8.5-ounce) box cornbread mix (recommended: Jiffy)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 (15.5-ounce) can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 packet sazon seasoning
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup salsa
  • 2 tomatoes, seeded and chopped
  • 1 head romaine lettuce, cut into strips
  • Creamy Lime Dressing, recipe follows
  • 1 1/2 cups grated Monterey jack cheese
  • 1 1/2 cups grated Cheddar
  • Special equipment: glass trifle dish

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Grease an 8 by 8-inch glass pan with butter. Stir together the cornbread mix with the egg and milk. Evenly spread into prepared pan and bake on the middle rack for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and cool in pan for 10 minutes. Remove from pan to cool completely. Mix together the beans with the sazon and season with salt and pepper. Toss the salsa with the tomatoes. When ready to serve, cut the cornbread into 1/2-inch croutons. Toss the lettuce with 3/4 cups of the dressing. In a clear trifle dish, layer the Tex-Mex Salad beginning with the black beans followed by the Monterey jack cheese, the tomato salsa mixture, the Cheddar, the dressed romaine and top with the cornbread croutons. Serve the remaining dressing on the side.

Creamy Lime Dressing:

  • 2 tablespoons freshly chopped cilantro leaves
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon lime zest
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 clove garlic, smashed
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Special equipment: blender

Blend all the ingredients except the olive oil until smooth. While machine is running, slowly drizzle in the oil until incorporated. Season, to taste, with salt and pepper.

Yield: 1 1/2 cups

Photo at the top is mine...here is theirs....


Side Notes--I added a layer of steak to my salad...I needed a protein! Also the dressing is kick ASS so if you just want to buy salad and add all the stuff to it fine but I highly recommend making the dressing!!

BON CHANCE!

Monday, July 19, 2010

Big deal

Sammy attended his first movie yesterday with Greg. He went to see Toy Story 3 in 3D. He was so cute. If I can get Greg to email me the picture from his phone I will post it. He had such a great time and ate lots of popcorn! He loved seeing Buzz and Woody on the big screen. It was a must that he wore his woody pj's to bed! SO cute!

And Charlie has turned 11 months. ACK! In less than a month he will be one. SFD. Where had the time gone? He has started to wave. He started waving at himself in the mirror at the mall on our anniversary! It was so cute. And now he does a whole arm wave! It is adorable.

We are off to the beach and hopefully I'll have some time to post while I am down at the beach relaxing!

Monday, July 12, 2010

SFD

I hate insurance. I hate having to spend so much SFD time on figuring it all out and choosing the best options from what we have. It's like would you rather have gizzards or liver for dinner. BOTH of them SUCK but this is what we have to choose from.

SFD! SFD!

Sunday, July 11, 2010

So Many Things, So Little Time

Pool time with the boys is always fun. Sam has turned into quite a little fish. He is learning lots from Cole and Avery. We keep telling him, for various things like going to the potty, swimming, and pedaling his bike, that Cole does it. One day Cole is going to do something that he shouldn't be doing, not saying that Cole is a bad influence :), but he is going to turn to us and say, "But Cole was doing it!" Classic parenting.

Anywho, the boys love the water and don't mind the heat at all. Charlie wants to run and play and swim with his brother SOOOO bad. You can see it in his little devil, I mean angelic face.


Greg is such a good daddy. I am truly blessed that Greg chose me to marry. And he did. It is the one thing I give him credit for! And our beautiful kids. But he is such a playmate for the boys. It is exhausting just to watch him. They have such a wonderful time with Greg and he is all the energy in the world for them.


This is my version of adult swim. When the whistle blows for adult swim, Samuel doesn't quite understand that he isn't an adult, so we compromise and let him sit on the side of the pool. He seems content for the 10 whole minutes he has to be out of the pool and it is the only time I don't have a child clawing at my bathing suit and potentially exposing the girls.


Charlie is a funny little baby. He used to be content to sit and watch the world go by and now he is finding his voice. He is not really a crier but he will certainly make noises at you to get what he wants. We have been working on baby sign to help diminish the "worst noises in the world" from his vocabulary.

Another brag on Greg. He recently got a hair up his ass and decided to run a triathlon. WHAT? you say....yes, a triathlon folks. In this case it was a 250 yard swim (in a pool, about 5 laps), a 12 mile bike and a 3.1 mile run. He finished in 184th place. You can check out the results and at the top of the page type in his name. I am so proud of him. We saw him riding his bike and then drove onto park and see the rest of the race. By the time we got there, went to the bathroom and sat through about 45 min of bikers, I looked over and saw Greg cross the finish line running! I couldn't believe that I missed him. :( I was disappointed but relieved that I actually saw him cross the finish line! Way to go babe!


Sam also had a great time a the triathlon...he played in the moon bounce! Check out the air!


My three men couldn't be cuter. They were checking out a truck or rain or a bug...pick one!


And here are some cutie pics just for fun!