Saturday, November 15, 2008

Dirt, Mud and Horses


This post is about our day at the stables. Jessi is here for the weekend because she is riding in a couple of events at a horse show here in Raleigh. So of course we bombard her at the barn yesterday. It was raining, Greg got stuck at work and Sam had not had a nap (except for in the car on the way). I totally forget what it's like at a barn. I had on my running shoes, which got completely covered in red clay/mud and a pair of jeans. They were wet up to about mid-calf. And since there was so much red clay mud and water I thought that the stroller would be pretty much useless, so I carried Sam all day. I had a few breaks when we were inside and finally I just let him down in the dirt. A little horse poo won't hurt, right? (Grammi, don't have a heart attack OK) Of course the first thing he does is go for Jessi's scissors, syringe with ace and I gave him a clip to play with...what's the first thing he does???? Puts it in his mouth...that's right....the child that puts NOTHING in his mouth but a blanket, immediately picks a clip off of the ground and puts it in his mouth. Just my luck!


Please don't think I am complaining, I had so much fun watching Jess ride and win a class! She is an amazing girl, not only at riding but at everything she does. How lucky are we that she is related to us?!
All in all it was a GREAT day. Sam was a trooper. He loved the horses. At first he had a look on his face that was half smile half petrified. I'm sure he was thinking....That's a huge dog! But after a while he warmed up and LOVED watching them run around the ring. BIG DOG!!

1 comment:

Unknown said...

What a cutie! I gave up trying to keep my kids clean outside recently. There is no point. I want them to get outside, but they aren't walking too good yet, so they get dirty. It's boosting their immune system right? Also, I haven't heard that Sam doesn't like to put stuff in his mouth... he eats right? If you aren't already working with an OT, I can recommend a good one.... :) We get so frustrated with Ben because he put everything BUT food in his mouth... oh, and he eats paper.. no food.. just paper. I need to find some edible paper. :)