Saturday, November 15, 2008

Dirt, Mud and Horses


This post is about our day at the stables. Jessi is here for the weekend because she is riding in a couple of events at a horse show here in Raleigh. So of course we bombard her at the barn yesterday. It was raining, Greg got stuck at work and Sam had not had a nap (except for in the car on the way). I totally forget what it's like at a barn. I had on my running shoes, which got completely covered in red clay/mud and a pair of jeans. They were wet up to about mid-calf. And since there was so much red clay mud and water I thought that the stroller would be pretty much useless, so I carried Sam all day. I had a few breaks when we were inside and finally I just let him down in the dirt. A little horse poo won't hurt, right? (Grammi, don't have a heart attack OK) Of course the first thing he does is go for Jessi's scissors, syringe with ace and I gave him a clip to play with...what's the first thing he does???? Puts it in his mouth...that's right....the child that puts NOTHING in his mouth but a blanket, immediately picks a clip off of the ground and puts it in his mouth. Just my luck!


Please don't think I am complaining, I had so much fun watching Jess ride and win a class! She is an amazing girl, not only at riding but at everything she does. How lucky are we that she is related to us?!
All in all it was a GREAT day. Sam was a trooper. He loved the horses. At first he had a look on his face that was half smile half petrified. I'm sure he was thinking....That's a huge dog! But after a while he warmed up and LOVED watching them run around the ring. BIG DOG!!

Tuesday, November 11, 2008

Happy Fall Ya'll


I think it is officially fall here in the south. It has been frosting overnight and only getting into the 50's during the day. We took Sam to the park the other day and he loved it. He is getting so big and trying to walk everywhere! He is a true boy though....all he wanted to do was play in the dirt and mulch on the playground. He was such a big boy and went down the slide. He wasn't so sure about the swings this time. He looked like he was panicking so we took him out...he didn't look like he was having a ball. Um, could Greg and Sam be any sweeter?! Greg is such a good daddy! As Sam is getting bigger I think he is looking a little less like Greg and maybe a little more like me...at least a smidge?!


We do have snuggle time in the mornings. When he wakes up he usually plays very quietly in his crib until we think it is too cute and we have to go get him. Then he gets his prilosec and then we have to wait a half an hour for him to eat. So we snuggle on the couch under a blanket. He is so sweet. We usually watch a little Noggin in the morning so it is either Franklin or Jack's Big Music Show. I know, I know....I said I wouldn't put him in front of the tv but sometimes it really is educational! So here is snuggle time with Daddy.


These were just too cute not to post! Look at those chompers and curls!!

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

Halloween

Sorry this is SOOO behind but we weren't here over the weekend so I couldn't post these ADORABLE pics of Monkey Man Sam. He had many costumes over the weekend. He loved halloween. And we were very good and didn't collect any candy and we got rid of all of ours, so nothing was left to tempt us. Even though we did binge quite a bit over the weekend. Sam loved seeing all the kids in their costumes and was toasty even though it was pretty cold.

This outfit does have a cape attached...just in case you were wondering.

We had a great weekend visiting family in MD. GiGi and GiPoppi's house on Saturday to see them, PapPap, Aunt V, and Jessi. We had a great lunch from TGI Friday's. GiGi is doing much better and even Poppi seemed to be enjoying himself and he seems to be getting around ok. Now if we could just get GiGi off of that walker. I know she would be a happy camper.

Happy Birthday Mom!


Onto Nanny's house. We spend Saturday night and Sunday at my mom's. Everyone, at some point came by to see us. Mom got Wii for her birthday so Greg hooked that up and it entertained everyone for hours. The girls and I baked cupcakes for mom with Keith Urban and family pics on them...thanks Amy. Sam got the BEST shirt from mom...check it out. Charlie Brown face and all.

Greg and I went to vote together yesterday. We had NO line what so ever at our polling place. It took all of 10 min. We didn't have electronic voting so we actually had to fill in the bubbles! Greg was very disappointed. It was also George 4's birthday too! So happy birthday and I hope everyone got out there to vote!!