Wednesday, April 28, 2010

March for Babies



Thanks again to everyone who donated to our March for Babies. We had a great day! Our friend Heather came to walk as well. We didn't meet up until the end but it was nice to see her and know that she was out to support us! Thanks Heather & Sam! We raised $865...not quite a $1000 but close. There is still time to donate if you haven't yet. We have until June 10th to collect money!


Lots of people walked and some people even ran! Each year when we do this I think back to my little, itty, bitty man in the NICU at WakeMed. And now look at him....all grown up and eating a hot dog! MOTY!

Tuesday, April 27, 2010

MOTY

For those of you unfamiliar with the acronym MOTY, it means Mother of the Year. I am going to occasionally post MOTY nominations for myself on the blog. So here is post number #1 for MOTY.

I shut down all operating doors and exits at Home Depot on Friday. I bought myself a $5 seed starter kit and $5 worth of seeds. Well my $10 Easter present, to myself, has now cost us a grand total of $175. We now have a beautiful raised bed garden with tomatoes, zucchini, squash, cucumbers and "oh, snap" peas. As well as a perforated, buried watering system and a new spigot on the other side of the house, fresh with a new hose, hose rack and nozzle. Speaking of...I have to go water....

OK--SO, we were at Home Depot on Friday afternoon with Charlie in his carrier and Samuel RUNNING amok. We headed to the "gutter section" b/c that is where Greg said the perforated drain stuff would be and I said, "I bet it's outside with the gardening stuff" but to the gutter section we went. Then when he asked someone where it was they pointed to the outside garden section and then I was strictly told to hush by Gregory when I said, "Ah, who would have thought?" I digress. So we are outside measuring perforated hoses and Sam hauls off to go look at the trucks pulling up behind Home Depot. I follow and then Greg goes inside to put something back, with Charlie. Sam then starts running all over the outdoor area. He runs by the sliding doors to go inside and they open. I am probably a good 10 leaps away at this point and I see the doors open but not Sam. So I go in and ask the closest person if they saw a little blonde boy run by and they literally FREEZE. No! they exclaim and start asking me what he was wearing, what does he look like and I start to freak out--not because I think he is gone but because I am totally embarrassed! I knew he was right around somewhere.

He had not gone in, but snuck down the next isle and was back looking at the trucks! I let the Home Depot worker know that I had found him and all the walkies start buzzing with word that the little boy had been found and that they can reopen the doors. WOW!

MOTY!

Babies

Damn Charlie! He had to go and get a tooth! Now he is all grown up. Tomorrow he will be applying for college. I'm not dramatic at all!

Friday, April 16, 2010

Large Machinery

I think I am the only mother on earth who has actually been corrected by her two year old on the name of a piece of heavy machinery...See below for reference. If any of you have ever ridden in the car with Sam, you know that he identifies EVERY truck and EVERY piece of construction equipment (thank you DVD's and National Geographic). OH, Truck! OH, EP-I-SKATER (excavator) damn it is cute! OH, Garbage Truck! OH, BEEEEEG Truck!

So in honor of my very informed child we are going to take a little quiz...Name these pieces of equipment

1.
2.

3.

4.


5.

6.
If you are having trouble here are the names of the trucks...match them up! Skid Steer, Excavator, Bulldozer, Backhoe Loader, Dump Truck & Front Loader.

Answers are as follows:
1. Front Loader
2. Excavator
3. Bulldozer
4. Skid Steer
5. Dump Truck
6. Backhoe Loader

RE: Story from above....In thinking I can't possibly think I am the only mommy on earth that has been corrected by her child as far as the names of heavy machinery. But this is how our conversation went....

Mommy: "Oh Sam, look, a front loader!"
Sam: "No Mommy, Skid Steer!"

Trust me, this was said with disdain and a FOUL look on his face like I just slapped him or told him that Santa wasn't real. What fricken two year old knows that?! Thank God he knows other things too or I would think crazy things!

Samuel


OH Sam. What can I say about you (that won't get CPS out here in a flash)? You are two...and a half....well more than that really, but for all intensive purposes 2 1/2. We were told more then once that you were possibly speech delayed and that you should be tested. I took you right after Charlie was born to be screened and you wouldn't say a fricken word. I was mortified b/c I knew you could speak. Also, I had just had a baby, it was 90 degrees outside and I was super hormonal, so needless to say, I cried on the way home. Oh yeah, you pooped your pants while we were there too. And they were running late. I digress. NOW, you don't ever stop talking. Even in your sleep. The words are just spewing out of your mouth! I can't believe that in 7 months that you can name all the letters, numbers up to 10 and some past, know all the names of Thomas, Cars and any piece of heavy machinery out there. You amaze me.


The activity level has also increased. You are running around like a mad man. You so want to be one of the big boys. Ben and Sam (Bensam) take very good care of you and include you in everything that they do. You still have just a little bit of a fairy run (with the arms swinging and a little bit of a hoppy jump in there) but it is ADORABLE. You actually run like Phoebe from Friends. It's funny. Below you are playing with your new found friends the Wilson's, Cole and Avery. Cole is your train buddy and Avery is a no nonsense big sister! You are actually playing Tag. It was so cute!


We just took you yesterday to the dermatologist to get Mollescum burned off from under your "pits". Hopefully, they will feel better in a few days. You were so miserable. I hated to see you in pain.

You have minimized timeouts, which is a relief to me. But when you do go there it is kinda funny. You tend to scream, "Oh, man, Oh, man" repeatedly while crying. You are cute. You are trying to learn to share, as well as a two year old can. My house is a mess because you have ADD, yet to be diagnosed :) Toys are everywhere. You can't make up your mind what you want to do or play with so you just take it all out. You are learning to help clean up, which is fun!


You are still certainly two, and most days you push me to the brink of a large nervous breakdown, but you are certainly a blessing and truly the light of my life! Love, Mama

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Goals

Ok, so you know when you set a goal for yourself and you are all pumped up about it and you are really good about reaching that goal, untilllllll you get distracted and busy and then are ashamed that you are ignoring the goals and so you just hope that no one will notice that you aren't reaching your goals....

Youuuuu know what I'm talking about! Well, along with my "working out", this blog has gone neglected and I was just hoping that it would update itself with pictures and funny anecdotes. But, alas, it did not. (Insert, wahhh wahhh here). So what I'm gonna do, more like what I'm not gonna do, is pressure myself into doing a funny or anecdotal post everyday. It will just be what is going on. Sorry if it is boring or if you get offended b/c I write about you on here or if it is just a picture or if I BITCH my brains out...it is what it is.

So with that said....the last few weeks have been SUPER eventful. From here on out you will see an abbreviation of some very choice words that I am trying not to use anymore...Shit, Fuck, Damn. So it will now be SFD. And if you hear me say this, you will know what I am talking about.

Where did I leave off? Mid March, so a fricken month ago. WOW, I suck. A month is a long time to be gone?! And really it was mid February...ACK!

Charlie:
Is growing and I hate it.
He is a chunker--17lbs plus. He loves eating, hence the chunkiness.


Those dimples are ridiculous.

The hair is ridiculous. He looks like he just stuck his finger in an electrical socket and got a jolt. And when I say ridiculous I mean ridiculously cute. So cute in fact I want to just eat his face off. He is up on his hands and knees and wanting to crawl so bad. He loves being in his walker too. I think he really just wants to keep up with Sam. But you know me...I keep pushing him down and wanting him to stay small forever. Luckily, Eli had her babes so I will get my itty, bity baby fix elsewhere. The reflux is improving but there are still times, like yesterday SFD, that I had to change my outfit no less than 4 times....in little under an hour. Thank God I love laundry. He is babbling away like a mad man. He says dada and lots of other babbling like sounds. He is also a champion bubble blower and raspberry maker. His smile is contagious and so easily made. He LOVES life and is the BEST baby ever! I wish I could have 10 like him, minus the reflux, but I will take what I can get.
He was Christened this past weekend and it was BEAUTIFUL. The weather was great. We had some family in town and enjoyed every second of being with them. Here is Charlie in his Christening gown...NOT a dress!


My little man, all grown up. I HATE IT, SFD!

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Holy Cow Batman--I'm Back!

Long time, no see blog. I have missed you. Here are a few things you have missed.