OK--So I am the worst blogger in the world. I have deprived many of my friends and family from hearing about our daily drama and seeing adorable pictures of my devils, I mean children. Oooh, oooh--that's right I said CHILDREN! Since my last rant-and actually later that evening I gave birth to Charles Alan Kastendike. Weighing in at a whopping 6 lbs. 1 oz. and 20 inches long. For those of you who haven't heard the story I will give you a time line and the story.
9 am: Picked George and Suzzanne up from the airport.
10 am: Got home, showered and shaved my legs...I guess this should have been a clue that something was going on.
11 am: Go to appointment at OB/GYN, wait 35 min in the waiting room. They do my My BP is just over the "normal" range- 140/95. They test my urine for proteins and guess what...they were high. Just like they had been for the previous 4 weeks.
12:30 pm: Leave OB's for home and to break the news that they are sending me to the hospital for "monitoring" AKA delivery/inducement.
2:30 pm: Get to the hospital.
3:30 pm: Have a round of blood work done.
4:30 pm: Have a catheter put in to test my urine--apparently just peeing it out doesn't do it anymore. Thank God they just left it in...last time the tested and took it out and had to replace it a half and hour later...anywho
4:45 pm: We were told that I had to be induced. The blood work showed that my liver enzymes were all out of whack, my platelets were low and some ratio in my urine...something that when the number is above .14 shows signs of pre-eclampsia...I was at .45--so I was officially diagnosed with pre-eclampsia and was told that I had to go on the mag sulfate AGAIN. ARG! I was really hoping that they could just induce me but no such luck!
6 pm: I was moved to a room and started on my bulk dose of mag sulfate. I was waiting to throw up the whole time but I didn't.
6:30 pm: Started on the Pitocin. I had originally spoke with Dr. Sandu about going au natural...I thought I could tough it out. Then they started increasing my pitocin every 15 min. Dr. Sandu claimed that we were going to have a baby before midnight and we chuckled! Little did we know!
8 pm: At a certain point I thought I may actually levitate out of the bed it hurt so damn bad. So I asked for an epidural. They had to run blood work to make sure that I had enough platelets and clotting factors to manage an epidural---surprise, surprise I didn't! My platelets had dropped from 106,000 when I came in (which is already low--normal is 150,000-450,000) to 90,000. So now they are telling me no epidural. ACK! So I cried a little and asked what my options were...sledgehammer, knock me completely out, large shotgun, what?! They said they could give me something to take the edge off! HA! Had any of these people ever been in labor? I think I actually pulled several muscles just from pulling on the bed bar so hard! So they made me a deal....wait an hour, check my platelets again and see what we have.
9 pm: Blood work is back and semi good news. My platelets were at a level that they felt was just OK to do the epidural....96,000.
9:30 pm: Get epidural. Anesthesiologist was a jerk. This is not why but just a side note--he stabbed my spine no less than 5 times to get the drugs administered correctly. I had terrible pain in my spine on the left side--repeatedly. Then he gave me two massive doses of what ever they give you. Well anyone who knows me and I tell ALL the doctors repeatedly, that I do NOT do well with medications. Most anything aside from antibiotics and advil makes me throw up. So....
9:36 pm: Start feeling like I am going to die! My heart starts racing. I start profusely sweating and then comes the vomit. Lucky I learned my lesson and I didn't eat anything prior to going to the hospital.
10 pm: Go into meditative state and try to regain some composure. I had thoroughly embarrassed myself by yelling at my husband, shrugging him off my half numb legs and letting the f bomb fly no less than 100 times. Along with tears and feeling like a failure because I wanted/got an epidural. During this time Greg and the Doctors had discovered that I was bleeding into the line of the epidural and out of the line all over the bed and such...needless to say Greg was a little freaked out and they tested my coagulates again and they seemed ok....
11 pm: Start feeling better and chat with Greg for a little bit. Doc comes in and says that she doesn't want to check me but will wait until I feel ready to push.
11:25 pm: I was feeling some of the contractions on my right side so my nurse Candy (yes her name was Candy and she was very nice and didn't look like a Candy at all) helped me roll over and KAPOW I felt like he was going to shoot out of me!
11:27 pm: Doc comes in and asks if I can push...SURE I say...I can do anything you ask...If she asked me to do cart wheels I would have :) She says that she is going to run out and make a phone call and will be back in 5 or so min. Well the nurse went to get her in just under a min.
11:27-11:37 pm: I had just about 4 contractions and pushed 3 or 4 times with each contraction and VOILA Charlie was born.
He was happy and healthy--Thank God! No NICU, no heart monitors, no tubes! It was kinda surreal! TBC....
Monday, August 31, 2009
Friday, August 14, 2009
Early Morning Post and a Baby
Reasons for this Early Morning Post (I have been up since 6 am):
1. Weird dreams: including but not limited to Harry Potter, Michael Vick, a dwarf, my job as a camp counselor and working at Southern Seasons making chocolate covered espresso beans.
2. Uncomfortable.
3. Urinating every hour.
4. Husband up early to go to the pool.
5. Hot--I compromised and turned the AC up to 74-now I sweat when I sleep.
6. Cramping--can't tell if it's contractions, gas or baby trying to move.
7. Last but not least--my anxiety--my body is T-I-R-E-D but my mind is acting as if I drank a million espressos and washed them down with some speed.
Anywhoo.....
Charlie isn't here yet but I can't wait. I have had a few rough days as far as "my job" is concerned. Being a SAHM (Stay At Home Mom) is NOT easy. I have wanted to quit, but I guess everyone wants to quit their jobs every once in a while, right?! I think Sam has figured out that something big is going to happen soon. He is very clingy and VERY indecisive but he is 23 months old. He completely ripped apart One Fish, Two Fish Red Fish, Blue Fish yesterday in his crib because he was pissed. He was supposed to be sleeping :) AHHH, my angel!
I am also 200 lbs and can't really heave him around anymore. Poor guy just bounces right off my boobs! It is even getting difficult to read to him because he really doesn't have a lap to sit on any more--I have to cram him on top of a throw pillow and pray that he doesn't topple over the edge of the chair!
I am having a little bit of anxiety about how his life is going to change once little Charlie comes home. Sam is my little boy and will always be my baby. I can understand how my mom has a special place for Anna in her heart. Most days I am so thrilled that he is happy, growing and healthy but there are other days where I miss my little baby. I guess every mom has those days! I am overjoyed when he learns new things or can say new words--I even got a little chuckle when he said, "Mama" and I said "yes baby" and he said "fat". I'll take it, with a grain of salt I guess! He is such a joy and I hope that by having another it will only enrich his life experiences and not totally destroy his little world!
If you see me weeping or if I call you weeping--just give me a shoulder to cry on and PROMISE me that it will pass!
On a high note--I am actually having a real live baby shower tomorrow. Now, to be fair, Krissy did put together a "shower" for Sam and it was delightful....It was very much like a wine and cheese party that I got to open gifts at :) I am very grateful that she did this for me so don't think I am disregarding it--but Amy and Eli thought that I should have a baby shower--you know with games and goofy girlie stuff like that! I had missed my shower by a week with Sam that Andrea did a great job of planning! So I am very excited that Mr. Charlie has not made an appearance yet (as I bite my tongue, he'll probably want to come tomorrow morning). So thanks girls for making it special! Can't wait to see everyone before I go into hibernation for the winter!
1. Weird dreams: including but not limited to Harry Potter, Michael Vick, a dwarf, my job as a camp counselor and working at Southern Seasons making chocolate covered espresso beans.
2. Uncomfortable.
3. Urinating every hour.
4. Husband up early to go to the pool.
5. Hot--I compromised and turned the AC up to 74-now I sweat when I sleep.
6. Cramping--can't tell if it's contractions, gas or baby trying to move.
7. Last but not least--my anxiety--my body is T-I-R-E-D but my mind is acting as if I drank a million espressos and washed them down with some speed.
Anywhoo.....
Charlie isn't here yet but I can't wait. I have had a few rough days as far as "my job" is concerned. Being a SAHM (Stay At Home Mom) is NOT easy. I have wanted to quit, but I guess everyone wants to quit their jobs every once in a while, right?! I think Sam has figured out that something big is going to happen soon. He is very clingy and VERY indecisive but he is 23 months old. He completely ripped apart One Fish, Two Fish Red Fish, Blue Fish yesterday in his crib because he was pissed. He was supposed to be sleeping :) AHHH, my angel!
I am also 200 lbs and can't really heave him around anymore. Poor guy just bounces right off my boobs! It is even getting difficult to read to him because he really doesn't have a lap to sit on any more--I have to cram him on top of a throw pillow and pray that he doesn't topple over the edge of the chair!
I am having a little bit of anxiety about how his life is going to change once little Charlie comes home. Sam is my little boy and will always be my baby. I can understand how my mom has a special place for Anna in her heart. Most days I am so thrilled that he is happy, growing and healthy but there are other days where I miss my little baby. I guess every mom has those days! I am overjoyed when he learns new things or can say new words--I even got a little chuckle when he said, "Mama" and I said "yes baby" and he said "fat". I'll take it, with a grain of salt I guess! He is such a joy and I hope that by having another it will only enrich his life experiences and not totally destroy his little world!
If you see me weeping or if I call you weeping--just give me a shoulder to cry on and PROMISE me that it will pass!
On a high note--I am actually having a real live baby shower tomorrow. Now, to be fair, Krissy did put together a "shower" for Sam and it was delightful....It was very much like a wine and cheese party that I got to open gifts at :) I am very grateful that she did this for me so don't think I am disregarding it--but Amy and Eli thought that I should have a baby shower--you know with games and goofy girlie stuff like that! I had missed my shower by a week with Sam that Andrea did a great job of planning! So I am very excited that Mr. Charlie has not made an appearance yet (as I bite my tongue, he'll probably want to come tomorrow morning). So thanks girls for making it special! Can't wait to see everyone before I go into hibernation for the winter!
Saturday, August 8, 2009
Park
A day a the park with Sam is SOOOOO much fun! Typically anyone reading this would think I am being sarcastic but I'm not. He loves playing at the park and he is such a little people watcher. I have been trying to get him and myself out of the house, along with Greg (cause he's stuck in the attic most of the time) even though it is 1000 degrees outside. So we grabbed some Lowe's fried chicken (which is fantastic and cheap $4.99 for 8 pieces) a bag of chips, some fruit and a soda from Sonic (because they have my favorite ice) and went to the park. Rolesville Park is a great park for us. It is right down the road, it usually isn't packed, and there is lots of room to run and play but it isn't so big that I'm afraid I might lose Sam (because he is fast and I'm 200 lbs.)
So as you can see Greg HATES playing with Sam and Sam HATES playing with Daddy. Ok--there's my sarcasm. They are like soul mates that were made to play. Lots of people can attest that when I am chatting on the phone they hear Samuel's shrieks of laughter because he and Greg are running around or shall I say Greg is running around after Samuel. I digress...Below you will see pics of Sam on the swings. I was pushing him for a few minutes and he was terribly bored. I feel I have failed as a parent when my child doesn't even laugh when I make funny faces and I am pushing him on the swings. But in steps Greg and makes life fun again! You would have thought that Greg was the funniest man on the face of the earth. Sam just lit up and was laughing his ass off! I think that Greg was having an equally fun time!






Sam unfortunately spotted a kid with a balloon from an adjacent birthday party and was screaming about a "booon". So a nice lady who was at the party said that we could have one. So Greg so nonchalantly went up and took the only balloon left...of course it was pink but Sam could have cared less.
Look closely at the picture below....tell me I had anything to do with Sam....If you say that I was more than a holding unit for 33 weeks I will call you a liar!
Here is my big belly--36 weeks (8/2/09) I am ready but I know Charlie has some cooking to do. Hopefully this one will look at least a little like me!

Alrighty--last but not least. I woke up from a nap one afternoon, I think last Sat to find this sitting on top of my child's highchair. Now, this doesn't look suspicious until you find out that this box of cheez-its was actually purchased no less than 6 hours before this pic was taken. Greg points at Sam and Sam points at Greg. Believe it or not--I have no idea which one to believe!
So as you can see Greg HATES playing with Sam and Sam HATES playing with Daddy. Ok--there's my sarcasm. They are like soul mates that were made to play. Lots of people can attest that when I am chatting on the phone they hear Samuel's shrieks of laughter because he and Greg are running around or shall I say Greg is running around after Samuel. I digress...Below you will see pics of Sam on the swings. I was pushing him for a few minutes and he was terribly bored. I feel I have failed as a parent when my child doesn't even laugh when I make funny faces and I am pushing him on the swings. But in steps Greg and makes life fun again! You would have thought that Greg was the funniest man on the face of the earth. Sam just lit up and was laughing his ass off! I think that Greg was having an equally fun time!
Sam unfortunately spotted a kid with a balloon from an adjacent birthday party and was screaming about a "booon". So a nice lady who was at the party said that we could have one. So Greg so nonchalantly went up and took the only balloon left...of course it was pink but Sam could have cared less.
Look closely at the picture below....tell me I had anything to do with Sam....If you say that I was more than a holding unit for 33 weeks I will call you a liar!
Alrighty--last but not least. I woke up from a nap one afternoon, I think last Sat to find this sitting on top of my child's highchair. Now, this doesn't look suspicious until you find out that this box of cheez-its was actually purchased no less than 6 hours before this pic was taken. Greg points at Sam and Sam points at Greg. Believe it or not--I have no idea which one to believe!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
